Leaving Hyampom

Rear View Mirror

We are gone from Hyampom.

Drifting away in the rear view are her mornings moistened by night’s dew, nights as black as the pupils they dilate, grazing goats and feeding chickens and the 2 large dogs that guard over their domain, and the earth’s mineral-rich perfume freed by the falling rains.

There was more to our experience in Hyampom than I can mention in this brief space. But in the space I allow myself there is not much room for you because you have to experience what my words can only suggest.

Why did we leave? We had practical concerns for our son, Solomon, for whom Hyampom was not the experience his soul wanted or needed. Solomon was very noticeably not himself on the property where we stayed. We thought it may have been the altitude, at 2400 feet, in addition to it being a new and strange place for him.

But no.

During our 11 day drive from Massachusetts to California every place, every stop was new and strange for Solomon and he was as energetic and active as when we lived in Beverly, MA.

It wasn’t the altitude either. Where we are now, which I will share in the next post, sits at 3500 feet above sea level and he is unaffected by it.

On the property, on that remote 120-acre property cradled on a breast of Hyampom, there was something – an energy – that felt like somewhere else was a better place for us as a family.

The remoteness of the property was at once inviting and repelling. Inviting because isolation can be restorative and refreshing. Repelling because I had lived in a remote situation, off-grid, years ago in Big Hill, Kentucky and had benefited from the solitude in such a way that the experience was complete and doesn’t need to be revisited.

I, we, are here to be out in the world among people, sharing, exchanging, transmitting, receiving, learning, and growing thereby. Isolation, beyond a short respite, is at this point equal to withholding the light and the gifts we offer and we are not driven by fear as many are. This much became very clear to me.

So we carry on.

We stayed in Redding, CA for 2 weeks in a hotel while we scouted places to rent for now until we buy again. We made our way through the city and met some wonderful people and moments. We visited Mount Shasta an hour north of and 2500 feet higher than Redding. In Mount Shasta we met more beautiful souls and inspiring sights.

We’ve decided to live in Mount Shasta for a year to see what we see and find what we find as our journey continues. I will be sharing our experiences and my reflections with you about Mount Shasta in the coming weeks and months.

Solomon is fully himself again and his joy serves as a compass letting us know when we are on course and off. Ultimately, our ship is guided by the stars, our vision is our map, and our faith keeps us afloat.

We make our plan, then follow it like a river. We have a destination in mind, but we respect the river’s current and flow with it. It will take us along its own turns and bends and through swirling eddies and rough rapids, all unforeseen and unknown. But the river will carry us through.

5 responses to “Leaving Hyampom

  1. Looking forward to reading future posts about your experiences on the Mount. I was so taken by the area during a recent visit. Many blessings to you and your family.

    Like

    • Thank you for dropping by, Amani and for the blessing! I plan on posting quite a bit more and welcome your input and comments always. When were you here in Mt. Shasta? And where are you now? Let’s stay in touch. Richest blessings to you.

      Like

      • We were there in December last year, and live in New York. I posted about the trip on my blog as well, have a look if you’d like. We just loved the energy of the Mount. It really is unmatched. So excited to read more about your transition and the adventures awaiting.

        Like

  2. Hi! I can relate to what you experienced in Hyampom…I just moved from there on the 20th after having lived there since early 2010 (I also lived in Arcata and have been curious about Mt. Shasta. I moved to Hyampom to learn about Animal Medicine and to teach myself/learn modern shamanism from the people and the land…I was expecting a lot of love and light lessons and found that most of my lessons had to do with shadow…there is some intense energy there that goes back to when all the wintu were wiped out or removed by 1865…Since so many descendants of the original gold mining and cattle ranching descendants still live there and own the land and value/profit…etc. I think the spirits still linger because they did not want to leave the beauty of the land which was all they knew of their time on earth…and let’s face it Hyampom is one of the most beautifil ideal earth environments…It sounds dramatic but I think there is a core “justice” that has not happened that keeps those spirits around. I have also heard that S. fork Mountain was refered to as the “devils spine” or backbone…I don’t know by who or why but that gave me shivers when I heard that. I have had a lot of stange experiences there that if you are interested I could share in private. I am glad you tuned into your son and got him out of there. I’m curious what property you were on…my ex lived there as a child and so I know some of the history on many of the properties and ranches

    I have heard that Mt. Shasta is the portal for the root chakra on the global chakra points…I can see how that is so…Over time I grew to believe that Hyampom is the unconscious or shadow side of the root portal in Shasta…so that is why that off energy is there and people have so many root lessons in survival, addiction, relationships based on survival needs, how to use resources, hidden resources and incomes, etc…It is an ideal hiding spot. Healing usually has to start at the root level…when your root is off everything feels off (I just experienced literally that in Hyampom and I was a fairly together person before moving there) I came to believe (and still do) that if a healing and balance can be achieved in Hyampom (at the unconscious root level) than that energy could potentially ripple out and heal the world…sounds dramatic but hey…better than the end of the world, ya know? I will likely go back once I get on my feet again and do my part to help rfaise the vibration there and heal the things I am aware of that keeps that valley/community from being everything it can be…afterall they say the unconscious mind has the most fertile soil for creation 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for dropping by my blog. You offer a lot to consider. I am curious to hear more about South Fork. I had heard that the ridge was a meeting place for councils between tribes and therefore is sacred ground.

      The energy in Hyampom is quite intense. I’m thankful that we were sensitive to Solomon’s shift and allowed ourselves to be informed by it.

      Where are you now? Have you been to Mt. Shasta? It’s intense. Intense, I think, for those for whom it is intense. It’s also, like all things, how it occurs to the individual. Some are drawn, some are repelled. Yet, it’s very conducive to exploring those and any other questions that arise us.

      You mentioned the Wintu and their removal from Hyampom. The same things happened in Mt. Shasta. I read of the slaughter of many at a ‘friendship feast’ proposed by whites. They were poisoned – about 150 or so. Other incidents occurred.

      They say those spirits have not left. Nor those of their Ancestors whose bones lie buried in Mt. Shasta. And their descendants are disturbed by the intrusion of skiers, careless hikers, and profiteers upon this sacred ground.

      And so it goes.

      Would like to hear more about your shamanism and your experiences as you travel on your journey.

      Like

Leave a Reply

