The Path of the Free

Thought for the Day:

It is hard to let old beliefs go. They are familiar. We are comfortable with them and have spent years building systems and developing habits that depend on them. Like a man who has worn eyeglasses so long that he forgets he has them on, we forget that the world looks to us the way it does because we have become used to seeing it that way through a particular set of lenses. Today, however, we need new lenses. And we need to throw the old ones away.
~ Kenich Ohmae ~

The greatest challenges I’ve faced throughout my life have been to my ways of perceiving, believing, and being which customarily have been based on this or that dogma, usually of a religious nature. These dogmas had served as my guide and justification, superseding my own internal voice.

I was not raised and taught how to listen for this internal voice, much less follow its gentle promptings day to day. When faced with danger it employed the energy of fear/alarm, and my responsiveness to this energy, in order to keep me safe from the grave consequences I faced in ignorance. But the daily cultivation of my relationship to my Self was missing.

Being of a curious nature led me to ask questions about my beliefs. However, I never believed that I had any right to the answers. The religion in which I was raised, so prevalent throughout the Western world, stripped me of all sense of authority and autonomy so that the pursuit of the answers came encased in the seemingly impermeable shell of blasphemy, condemnation, guilt, and fear.

But the cracks did form, and the flames of hell I so feared turned out to be the twin torches of liberty and enlightenment. Certain personal experiences, profoundly spiritual yet lucid (for we do, to our detriment, enshroud the spiritual with the murky mantle of mystery), revealed to me that my authority and sovereignty are my own, bestowed upon me by Nature and Her Creator.

I now listen for the still, small voice that whispers to me from the depths of my soul, and, with the help of my Ancestors and the support of a loving Universe, I tread with confidence and humble assurance upon the Path of the Free.

the truth i seek i am…….

Leave a Reply

